Artists of Color

Artists who are Black, Indigenous, or people of color have often been left out of art education, and it’s important to actively add them to curriculum. Here are just a few resources:

A series of folders with images focused on different drawing subjects

Informal Listing of BIPOC artists who draw

D L  Alvarez – //dl-alvarez.com/

Collections 

Whitney Museum of American Art
San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
University Art Museum of Berkeley
New Museum of Contemporary Art (NY)
Contemporary Arts Museum Huston
NY MoMA
Themistocles and Dare Michos
Norton Foundation
Weatherspoon
Altoid Collection of Seriously Strong Art

Symone Salib – //www.muralarts.org/artist/symone-salib/

Symone Salib is a Cuban/Egyptian portrait painter and street artist based out of Philadelphia. Through acrylic paint and illustration she works to highlight the lives of people, with a emphasis on people of color. 

 

Ya La’Ford – //yalaford.com/ , //creativepinellas.org/ya-levy-laford/

Ya Levy La’ford is a visual, mixed media artist and professor. Her extensive awards include, 2016 Muse Arts Ambassador Award, the Washington Project for the Arts, TBBCA Culture Encounter Art Award, and MLK Service Award Grant from the Florida Legislation. Her work has appeared in galleries, public collections and as part new community collaboration and special projects. Her perspective is “art mobilizes consensus or debate and is key to expressing the identity of Pinellas county and the world beyond… Art conveys a sense of community building and human inter-connectivity which I’m expanding to under-served communities to ensure wider appreciation, inclusion and celebration of the universal language of art.”

Marin Puryear – //americanart.si.edu/artwork/jug-86852 , //art21.org/artist/martin-puryear/

Rashaun Rucker – //www.rashaunrucker.com/

Rashaun Rucker (b. 1978, Winston-Salem, NC) ) is a product of North Carolina Central University and Marygrove College. He makes photographs, prints and drawings and has won more than 40 national and state awards for his work. In 2008 Rucker became the first African American to be named Michigan Press Photographer of the Year. He also won a national Emmy Award in 2008 for documentary photography on the pit bull culture in Detroit. Rucker was a Maynard Fellow at Harvard in 2009 and a Hearst visiting professional in the journalism department at UNC-Chapel Hill in 2013. In 2014 Rucker was awarded an artist residency at the Red Bull House of Art. In 2016 Rucker was honored as a Modern Man by Black Enterprise magazine. In 2017 Rucker created the original artwork for the critically acclaimed Detroit Free Press documentary 12 and Clairmount. His work was recently featured in HBO’s celebrated series Random Acts of Flyness and Native Son. In 2019 Rucker was awarded the Red Bull Arts Detroit micro grant and was named a Kresge Arts Fellow for his drawing practice. IN 2020 RUCKER WAS NAMED A Sustainable Arts Foundation AWARDEE. Rucker’s diverse work is represented in numerous public and private collections. 

Themba Khumalo – //www.artsy.net/artist/themba-khumalo

 South African, b. 1987

Themba Khumalo is a visual artist, who originates from South Africa, like other well-known artists such as Guy Tillim, Emilia Olsen, Wilma Cruise, Bruce Arnott, and Bridget Baker.

Themba Khumalo in private collections

On Artland Themba Khumalo’s art can be found in the collection of Shwen , who for instance also has works by other artists including Sarah Derat, Miriam Tölke, and Hur Kyung-Ae.

Trenton Doyle Hancock – //art21.org/artist/trenton-doyle-hancock/ , //www.jamescohan.com/artists/trenton-doyle-hancock?view=slider#54

Julie Mehretu – //www.artnet.com/artists/julie-mehretu/ , //www.wikiart.org/en/julie-mehretu , //en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Julie_Mehretu

Patrick earl hammie – //patrickearlhammie.com/portfolio/project/counterpoint-project/

Delita Martin – //blackboxpressstudio.com/

Pamela Phatsimo Sunstrum – //www.pamelaphatsimosunstrum.com/

Robert Pruitt – //www.robert-pruitt.com/ , //fantasticsagas.tumblr.com/

Sam Vernon – //www.samvernon.com

Sam Vernon earned her MFA in Painting/Printmaking from Yale University in 2015 and her BFA from The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art in 2009. 

Her installations combine xeroxed drawings, photographs, paintings and sculptural components in an exploration of personal narrative and identity. She uses installation and performance to honor the past while revising historical memory. Vernon has most recently exhibited with We Buy Gold, Interstitial Gallery, Coney Art Walls curated by Jeffrey Deitch, Brooklyn Museum, Queens Museum, Fowler Museum at UCLA and Seattle Art Museum. Sam lives in Oakland, CA and teaches printmaking as an Assistant Professor at California College of the Arts (CCA).

Zoe Charlton – //www.zoecharlton.com/

Jonathan Adams – //jcpublicart.com/jonathan-adams/

Lava Thomas – //www.lavathomas.com/

Phung Huynh – //www.phunghuynh.com/home.html

April Bey – //www.april-bey.com/

Eliseo CaSiano – //eliseocasiano.com/

Justin Tyler Bryant – //www.justintylerbryant.com/

Liz Montague – //lizatlarge.org/about-3/

Elizabeth Catlett – //www.artnet.com/artists/elizabeth-catlett/3

Kerry James Marshall – //www.artsy.net/artist/kerry-james-marshall , //americanart.si.edu/artist/kerry-james-marshall-29624 , //www.moma.org/artists/8285

Kara Walker – //art21.org/artist/kara-walker/ , //www.karawalkerstudio.com/

Rick Barton – //www.themorgan.org/blog/rick-barton-curatorial-serial-part-iii

Jaune Quick-to-See Smith – //www.youtube.com/watch?v=p8P0yoAwOv0 , //www.youtube.com/watch?v=1BtEJqvhosw , //nmwa.org/art/artists/jaune-quick-see-smith/ , //www.artsy.net/artwork/jaune-quick-to-see-smith-i-see-red-mutton-stew

Amy Sherald – //www.amysherald.com/about

Kehinde Wiley – //kehindewiley.com/

James Pate – //www.youtube.com/watch?v=HPA2gnlfe8Y , //www.civilrightsmuseum.org/kin-killin-kin

Whitefield Lovell – //www.dcmooregallery.com/artists/whitfield-lovell?view=slider#10

Alfred Conteh

Delita Martin

Melanie Yazzie

Kirin Makker

Charles White

Kyung Me

Fuko Ito

Denise Wood